Evil Blizzard – The Worst Show On Earth. Released via Cracked Ankles on Ltd Edition Picture Disc,  Blood Splattered Vinyl, CD. 

When Evil Blizzard emerged from the bowels of Lancashire with their debut album 5 years ago it is fair to say they caused a stir. Put on the front cover of The Guardian, and championed by Mark E. Smith (who gave the band the money to record their debut album out of his own pocket) their gruesome mix of four bass players blending Psyche, Krautrock, Post Punk and an unmistakable image saw them launched onto magazines and websites world-wide.

Their new album ‘The Worst Show On Earth’ (on their own newly-founded Cracked Ankles Records label) presents a logical progression from the previous two, a third stepping stone on the journey into their peculiar sonic dream- or nightmare? -scape. Heavy, grinding, yet commercially viable, this release sees the band truly shake off the ‘gimmick’ tag of the past and stride forward into new musical dimensions.

Yes, there’s still 4 basses. But also piano, cello, samples and a general disregard for the basic concept of a ‘pop song,’ with 2 tracks hitting the 10 minute mark. The introduction of keyboards into their live onslaught (you have seen them live, right? Right?!?) has developed their sound to incorporate techno and industrial elements, with recent single ‘Fast Forward Rewind’ hitting the nation’s airwaves aided by its freak show video shot illegally in an abandoned Victorian music hall.

The album title came from a less than impressed reviewer. The band, ever self-deprecating, take great pleasure in antagonising their crowd to the point that their dedicated following greet live performances with booing rather than applause.

One fan, who has the band logo tattooed on his arm, made his own ‘I Hate Evil Blizzard’ t-shirts. ‘People pay money to hate us. Win/Win.’

The album is a limited edition of 500 copies on premium weight blood splattered vinyl though it should be noted their last album sold out of its initial pressing in under 90 minutes. The band have famously only ever rehearsed 5 times…‘Evil Blizzard may be more eligible for the Turner Prize than the Mercury’ – theartsdesk.com

Tracklisting: Evil Blizzard – The Worst Show On Earth

1) Hello
2) Fast Forward Rewind
3) Unleash The Misery
4) Those We Left Behind
5) Like A God
6) Tell Me
7) Pull God From The Sky
8) The Worst Show On Earth (* extended version – CD/download only)

Get Social – Follow Evil Blizzard on Facebook

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A

, ,

Copyright 2018. All Rights Reserved

Select your currency
EUR Euro