SKU: N/A Categories: , Tags: , ,
Artist: Label: Released:


Goon – Dusk Of Punk/Happy Omen. Released via Partisan on Vinyl LP. 

Goon is the project of LA-based musician and visual artist Kenny Becker. With a medical condition that periodically deadens his
sense of smell and hearing, Becker began writing songs as a means of making the most of his life when those symptoms were

In October 2017 Goon released their ‘Happy Omen’ EP, which has gained praise from Noisey, Stereogum, BBC Radio 6 and even Ed
Droste of Grizzly Bear, who recently placed the band’s single ‘She’ at the top of his Favourite Songs Of 2017 list.

‘Happy Omen’ is the follow up to the band’s first EP ‘Dusk Of Punk’ (2016), which saw the completely independent band break
through the indie rock noise, receiving high marks from Rolling Stone, Spin, The FADER, Indie Shuffle and DIY Mag, eventually
landing them supporting slots for Grandaddy, Lucy Dacus, The Lemon Twigs and Starcrawler and performing at FADER Fort
during SXSW, with NPR naming them one of their Artists To Watch.

The first two EPs from Goon, ‘Dusk Of Punk’ (2016) and ‘Happy Omen’ (2017), on vinyl for the first time, collected on one LP. Two
previously unreleased songs have been added.

“Right down to its name, Goon captures the essence of ‘90s college radio.” – NPR

“(‘Dizzy’) is pure stoned-Weezer goodness, an image of So Cal summer painted in golden sludge.” – Rolling Stone

“Rising grunge-gaze heroes Goon have been bringing the scuzz back to LA guitar music for a good year now… the band and its
sludgy, sprawling sound has been a relentless presence on stage and playlists alike.” – Noisey

“Scrappy psych-pop track ‘Ten Tables’ follows the slow, acousticdriven melodies on the other two singles, ‘Chaka’ and ‘She,’ with a
slightly quickened pace and heavier layering. The twangy guitar, whooshing harmonies, and reference to childhood memories
remind me somewhat of Alex G.” – Stereogum

Tracklisting: Goon – Dusk Of Punk/Happy Omen

1. Dizzy
2. Green Peppers
3. Merchant Hall
4. Gay Rage
5. Slab Roller
6. Enter Bethel Admissions
7. Scab
8. Another Window (Hidden Track)
9. Chaka
10. She
11. A Window Outside
12. Ten Tables
13. Jalama
14. Push Me
15. Choke Throat – Have a Listen

More great releases on Partisan Records

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A

You may also like…

Copyright 2018. All Rights Reserved

Select your currency
EUR Euro