SKU: N/A Categories: , Tags: , , ,
Artist: Label: Released:


Hugh Masekela – The Chisa Years. Released via BBE on Double Vinyl LP. 

The Chisa Years: 1965–1975 (Rare and Unreleased) is a compilation album by South African jazz trumpeter Hugh Masekela. The album consists of 14 rare or forgotten tracks recorded by Stewart Levine and Hugh Masekela from 1965 to 1975 when they ran their own Chisa Records label. Thom Jurek of Allmusic wrote “In sum, there isn’t a weak moment on this entire collection. It’s appeal is wide and deep and one can only hope this is the first of many volumes of this material to appear. BBE Records has done a stellar job in making this slab available.” Dan Nishimoto of the Prefix Magazine stated “The compilation focuses on Masekela’s original idea of “African American Music.” From the early experiments of the Zulus (a group featuring M’Bulu) in mixing doo-wop, rhythm & blues and South African gospel and the mbaqanga/”Grazing in the Grass”-style work of the generically named Johannesburg Street Band to the clearly Fela-influenced Ojah (Masekela’s band in the mid-’70s, consisting of players from Ghana and Nigeria) and the readyfor-primetime belting of M’Bulu, each track reveals a multi-pronged effort to find and challenge the notion(s) of how African and American cultural forms could interact.”

Tracklisting: Hugh Masekela – The Chisa Years

1. Ojah with Hugh Masekela – Afro Beat Blues
2. Letta Mbulu – Mahlalela
3. Baranta feat. Miatta Fahinbulleh – Amo Sakesa
4. Letta Mbulu – U Se Mcani B2 Baranta with Miatta Fahinbulleh – Tepo
5. The Zulus – Za Labalaba B4 The Zulus – Aredze
6. Baranta with Miatta Fahinbulleh – Witch Doctor
7. The Zulus – Joala
8. Baranta with Miatta Fahinbulleh – Ahvuomo
9. Letta Mbulu – Melodi (Sounds of Home)
10. Baranta fet. Miatta Fahinbulleh – A Cheeka Laka Laka
11. Johannesburg Street Band – Awe Mfana D4 Letta Mbulu – Macongo – Have a Listen

More great releases on BBE
PRESS – The Guardian

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A

You may also like…

Copyright 2018. All Rights Reserved

Select your currency
EUR Euro