Mychael Danna & Jeff Danna – Alias Grace. Released via Earth Recordings on Double Vinyl LP, CD. 

Academy Award Winner Mychael Danna (‘Life Of Pi’, ‘Little Miss Sunshine’, ‘Girl, Interrupted’) and Emmy Nominee Jeff Danna (‘The Good Dinosaur’, ‘The Imaginaries Of Doctor Parnassus’, ‘Kurt Cobain: Montage Of Heck’, ‘Storks’).

Scored by the acclaimed sibling composers, Mychael and Jeff Danna’s to accompany the compelling drama series ‘Alias Grace’ – based on Margaret Atwood’s novel – and starring Sarah Gadon, Anna Paquin, Zachery Levi, Paul Gross, Edward Holcroft, Kerr Logan, Rebecca Liddiard and David Cronenberg.

Previewing at Toronto International Film Festival, the mini-series aired on CBC in Canada and Netflix in the Autuman of 2017. Directed by Mary Harron and Sarah Gadon, the program is based on the historical fictional novel by Atwood (‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ and ‘The Blind Assassin’).

The series traces the true-life story of Grace Marks, a young poor Irish immigrant servant and James McDermott, a stable hand, who were both convicted of murdering their employers in Upper Canada during 1843. Marks who was vindicated after three decades behind bars went on to become a notorious figure while McDermott was hung. Mychael’s inspiration for the score was to create something that mirrored “the formal rigidity of British Colonial 19th Century society”.

An exquisite and compelling composition, it translates both on screen and off, through the brother’s choice of a chamber group to accompany them. The fleeting woodwinds and piano (along with the occasional church organ) create a beautifully romantic and dramatic persona that has an underlying darkness at its core reflecting the crime that underpins the series.

Tracklisting: Mychael Danna & Jeff Danna – Alias Grace

1 Grace in the Mirror – Have a Listen
2 Kingston Penitentiary, 1859
3 Doctor Jordan
4 McDermott Is Hung
5 Quilts
6 A Terrible Shock
7 Below Deck
8 Funeral at Sea
9 Ferry Crossing
10 Mary Whitney
11 Torn Open
12 Home for Christmas
13 A Visit to the Doctor
14 My Methods Take Time
15 Mary’s Burial
16 Nancy Montgomery Herself
17 Daisy Crown
18 A Woman’s Work
19 God Alone Can Tidy It Up
20 A Common Peddler
21 Grace’s Dream
22 Plotting Murder
23 Firefly
24 Flight
25 Simon’s Fantasy – Have a listen
26 Under Hypnosis
27 Grace’s Letter
28 Embroidery of the Tree of Paradise

More great releases on Earth Recordings

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A


You may also like…

Copyright 2018. All Rights Reserved

Select your currency
EUR Euro