Spiritualized – And Nothing Hurt. Released via Bella Union  on Deluxe Orange Vinyl, Ltd Edition White Vinyl,  Black Vinyl LP, CD.

The sleeve tells you so much about the process. It’s a picture of a lone figure. Suited up and immersed in interplanetary protective gear, he walks out across unmapped terrain. In the distance, a mountain range towers over the roughly gridded sand he’s striding. This is very much a solo mission – giant steps into the unknown. Inside the helmet, there’s all the uncertainty and madness that such a pursuit brings. That sleeve (designed, as ever, with Mark Farrow), comes wrapped around And Nothing Hurt – Spiritualized’s eighth album, the follow up to 2012’s Sweet Heart, Sweet Light.

From the opening lullaby of A Perfect Miracle through to the fading Morse Code at the close of Sail on Through, it painstakingly wraps layer upon layer of gloriously transcendent sound together to create a mesmerizing and cinematic collection of songs. There are points – the thunderous climax of On the Sunshine; the spectral waltz of The Prize; the towering guitar solo on I’m Your Man – where the waves of blissful noise are almost overwhelming, where one can imagine the studio’s speakers vibrating themselves off of the walls. Which is an incredible feat when you discover that the album was conceived and recorded almost entirely by one man – Jason Pierce, AKA J.Spaceman – in an upstairs room in his east London home. For the listener, the nine tracks on And Nothing Hurt effortlessly replicate the scale and power of Spiritualized’s previous releases, whether it’s the sonic blowback of On the Sunshine, the last dime in the jukebox love letter of Let’s Dance or the swell of an imaginary orchestra that seems to lift Damaged towards the heavens as it plays out.

Gatefold sleeve CD in O-card with 16pp booklet.

Deluxe vinyl box set includes ‘And Nothing Hurt’ on orange vinyl with 24pp book (saddle stitched, 250gsm cover / 150gsm pages) and digital download code.

Available to independent retailers on white vinyl with digital download code.
Standard black vinyl format includes digital download code.

Tracklisting: Spiritualized – And Nothing Hurt

1. A Perfect Miracle
2. I’m Your Man
3. Here It Comes (The Road) Let’s Go
4. Let’s Dance
5. On The Sunshine
6. Damaged
7. The Morning After
8. The Prize
9. Sail On Through

More great releases on Bella Union

Get Social…Follow Spiritualized on Facebook,   Twitter


Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A

, , ,

You may also like…

Copyright 2018. All Rights Reserved

Select your currency
EUR Euro